PIK Trading Update Bullish

PICK N PAY STORES LIMITED - Trading update for the 20 weeks ended 19 July 2026

Pick n Pay Stores Limited
Full analysis

What this filing means

Pick n Pay prints operational momentum a beaten-down share needed. Group turnover grew 2.7% (like-for-like 2.5%) for the 20 weeks to 19 July 2026, with company-owned supermarkets up 3.3% like-for-like, Boxer up 7.2% and online surging 37.5%. The caveats: the Pick n Pay segment was flat year-on-year, the S189A restructuring remains unresolved with SACCAWU's Labour Court application pending, and the update carries no margin, profit or cash-flow visibility. The numbers land against a share that sold off sharply into the print.

Pick n Pay is telling the market its core supermarkets actually grew in the 20 weeks to mid-July — a real improvement after a rough year. But the bigger Pick n Pay banner was flat, and an unresolved labour dispute hangs over the turnaround. Because the share had been hammered before this update, the operational print matters more than usual — though without any profit numbers, it is too early to call a real recovery.

Bull case

  • Group turnover grew 2.7% with like-for-like of 2.5% in the 20 weeks to 19 July 2026.
  • Boxer delivered 7.2% turnover growth (2.2% like-for-like) and continues gaining market share.
  • Online turnover grew 37.5%, driven by Pick n Pay asap! and groceries on the Mr D app.
  • Pick n Pay SA company-owned supermarkets like-for-like sales grew 3.3%, signalling core-segment momentum.
  • Pick n Pay SA internal selling price inflation moderated to 1.3% from 1.9% in FY26, with food inflation below CPI Food of 2.5%.

Bear case

  • Pick n Pay SA turnover actually contracted 0.4% and the Pick n Pay segment was flat year-on-year; the 2.7% group growth is propped up by Boxer and by closing or converting underperforming stores, not organic expansion at the core banner.
  • The S189A restructuring process remains unresolved, with SACCAWU having filed a Labour Court application and referred a dispute to the CCMA — meaningful execution risk on the turnaround timeline.
  • Pick n Pay's break-even profit objective is explicitly conditional on S189A completion and the full turnaround, with no guarantee of timing or delivery; these statements are unaudited.
  • The update omits gross margin, EBITDA, operating profit, cash flow and net debt — the profitability underpinning the supposed turnaround is not disclosed and cannot be verified from this filing.
View original SENS announcement

AI-generated summary by SENS-AI, based on the original JSE SENS filing.

SENS-AI conclusion

The operational surprise lands against a beaten-down share: CAR-20 is -13.6% and the stock sits near its 52-week low, so the market had clearly given up on the turnaround. Core company-owned supermarkets at +3.3% like-for-like, Boxer outperforming and online +37.5% are directionally better than the bear case implied — that earns a constructive read. The discount is real: PnP SA flat, S189A unresolved, no margin or profit visibility, unaudited. So what: the top line is moving in the right direction, but the market still needs H1 FY27 results to confirm the turnaround is delivering profit.

H1 FY27 interim results will show whether the like-for-like momentum is converting into gross margin and operating profit recovery.

Evidence from the filing

  • Group turnover grew 2.7% with like-for-like of 2.5% in the 20 weeks to 19 July 2026.

    “Turnover of the Company and its subsidiaries ("the Group") for the 20-week period to 19 July 2026 ("the Period") grew 2.7% and 2.5% on a like-for-like basis”
  • Boxer delivered 7.2% turnover growth (2.2% like-for-like) and continues gaining market share.

    “Boxer (SA & RoA*) turnover grew 7.2%, and 2.2% on a like-for-like basis”
  • Online turnover grew 37.5%, driven by Pick n Pay asap! and groceries on the Mr D app.

    “Online turnover growth for the Period was a robust 37.5%, driven by continued growth of Pick n Pay asap! and Pick n Pay groceries on the Mr D app”
  • Pick n Pay SA company-owned supermarkets like-for-like sales grew 3.3%, signalling core-segment momentum.

    “Pick n Pay SA company-owned supermarkets like-for-like sales growth was 3.3%”
  • Pick n Pay SA internal selling price inflation moderated to 1.3% from 1.9% in FY26, with food inflation below CPI Food of 2.5%.

    “Pick n Pay SA's internal selling price inflation for the Period, as measured on a volume-held-constant basis, was 1.3%, showing a further moderation from the 1.9% reported for full-year FY26”
  • The S189A restructuring process remains unresolved, with SACCAWU having filed a Labour Court application and referred a dispute to the CCMA — meaningful execution risk on the turnaround timeline.

    “As part of SACCAWU's opposition to the S189A process, it has made an application to the Labour Court and has referred a dispute to the CCMA. These matters are pending”
  • Pick n Pay's break-even profit objective is explicitly conditional on S189A completion and the full turnaround, with no guarantee of timing or delivery; these statements are unaudited.

    “The Pick n Pay segment requires the achievement of the full range of its turnaround initiatives, including the successful conclusion of the S189A process addressed below, in order to meet the previously announced break-even profit objective within the targeted timeframe”
  • The update omits gross margin, EBITDA, operating profit, cash flow and net debt — the profitability underpinning the supposed turnaround is not disclosed and cannot be verified from this filing.

    “These forward-looking statements have not been reviewed or reported on by Pick n Pay's external auditors”
Category
Trading Update
Event posture
Constructive
Published
Aug 6, 2026

More on Pick n Pay Stores Limited

Related filings