KUMBA IRON ORE LIMITED - Extracts from the reviewed interim results for the period ended 30 June 2026 and interim cash dividend declaration
What this filing means
Kumba's H1 2026 results reflect the earnings pain already signalled in the prior trading statement. Headline EPS fell 41% to 13.24 cents and the dividend was halved to R7.90 per share, driven by weaker iron ore prices and a sharp deterioration at Kolomela where production fell 16% and unit costs rose 22%. The share had sold off into the print, so the numbers land against a stock already priced for weakness — but the depth of the cuts and the operational pressure at Kolomela are harder to dismiss as old news.
Kumba makes money digging iron ore and selling it overseas. The price it gets for that ore fell, and one of its mines (Kolomela) got more expensive to run — so the company earned significantly less in the first half. It responded by cutting the interim dividend in half. The balance sheet is healthy with R12.1bn of net cash, which gives the company breathing room — but that cushion does not fix the mine or the commodity price.
Bull case
- Realised export price of US$90/wmt sat 8% above benchmark, signalling Kumba's product commands a quality premium even in a weaker market.
- Net cash of R12.1 billion on the balance sheet provides capacity to ride out the cycle and continue returning capital.
- Return on capital employed held at 26%, reflecting disciplined capital allocation through the downturn.
- EBITDA margin preserved at 35% despite revenue down 11%, evidencing underlying cost discipline.
- Fatality-free production exceeding 10 years at Sishen and 3 years at Kolomela underscores operational maturity.
Bear case
- Headline EPS fell 41% YoY to 13.24c, signalling deep earnings deterioration.
- Interim dividend cut 52% to R7.90/share from R16.60, halving direct shareholder returns.
- Kolomela cash cost surged 29% to R423.51/t and unit cost rose 22% to R659.06/t.
- Forward-looking statements not audited by PwC; this SENS release is summary extracts only — segment cash flow, debt schedule and capex detail are not disclosed here.
AI-generated summary by SENS-AI, based on the original JSE SENS filing.
SENS-AI conclusion
A clean earnings decline on the back of weaker iron ore pricing and Kolomela-specific operational deterioration. But the magnitude of the EPS fall (41%) and a 52% dividend cut on a name already trading on the floor mean the bar for a relief bounce is high. The EBITDA margin holding at 35% and the R12.1bn net cash position provide a genuine floor — this is a business under earnings pressure, not one in solvency distress — but Kolomela's cost and volume trajectory is the key open question the market will press on next. So what: the downturn is confirmed and the dividend has been cut to reflect it, but the market still needs management to show a credible path to cost and volume recovery at Kolomela before the stock re-rates. Missing evidence: No forward production or cost guidance provided in this extract; No prior trading statement range disclosed for beat/miss assessment; Full cash flow statement not included — cannot assess working capital movements; No disclosure of prior-period comparative iron ore price or exact volume-price split; Sustainability and social metrics lack financial quantification beyond R24.0bn 'enduring value' claim; CEO strategic commentary is generic; no specific recovery plan or timeline for Kolomela
The Kolomela cost curve and H2 production run-rate are where the market will test whether the operational pressure is cyclical or structural.
Evidence from the filing
Realised export price of US$90/wmt sat 8% above benchmark, signalling Kumba's product commands a quality premium even in a weaker market.
“Average realised export price of US$90 per wet metric tonne (wmt^), 8% above benchmark”
Net cash of R12.1 billion on the balance sheet provides capacity to ride out the cycle and continue returning capital.
“Closing net cash* of R12.1 billion”
Return on capital employed held at 26%, reflecting disciplined capital allocation through the downturn.
“Return on capital employed of 26%”
EBITDA margin preserved at 35% despite revenue down 11%, evidencing underlying cost discipline.
“EBITDA* margin of 35%”
Fatality-free production exceeding 10 years at Sishen and 3 years at Kolomela underscores operational maturity.
“Fatality-free production of more than 10 years at Sishen and more than 3 years at Kolomela”
Headline EPS fell 41% YoY to 13.24c, signalling deep earnings deterioration.
“Basic 13.24 22.26 (41) 45.97”
Interim dividend cut 52% to R7.90/share from R16.60, halving direct shareholder returns.
“Interim 7.90 16.60 (52) 16.60”
Kolomela cash cost surged 29% to R423.51/t and unit cost rose 22% to R659.06/t.
“Kolomela mine free-on-rail unit cost (Rand per dry metric tonne) Unit cost 659.06 541.14 22 520.64 Cash cost 423.51 328.80 29 374.21”
Forward-looking statements not audited by PwC; this SENS release is summary extracts only — segment cash flow, debt schedule and capex detail are not disclosed here.
“Any reference to future financial performance included in this announcement has not been reviewed or reported on by the Company's external auditors.”
More on Kumba Iron Ore Limited
Related filings
More from KIO
- KUMBA IRON ORE LIMITED - Dealing in securities by a major subsidiary in terms of the rules of the Bonus and Retention Share Plan (BRP)
- KUMBA IRON ORE LIMITED - Dealing in securities by a major subsidiary in terms of the rules of the Bonus and Retention Share Plan (BRP)
- KUMBA IRON ORE LIMITED - Dealing in securities by a major subsidiary in terms of the rules of the Bonus and Retention share Plan (BRP)
- KUMBA IRON ORE LIMITED - Dealing in securities by a major subsidiary in terms of the rules of the Bonus and Retention Share Plan (BRP)
- KUMBA IRON ORE LIMITED - Dealings in securities by the SIOC Employee Share Ownership Plan Trust
Other Results
- REMREMGRO LIMITED - Summary of audited results for the year ended 30 June 2026 and cash dividend declarations
- CHPCHOPPIES ENTERPRISES LIMITED - Audited Group financial results for the year ended 30 June 2026
- SACSA CORPORATE REAL ESTATE LIMITED - Unaudited condensed consolidated interim financial results for the six months ended 30 June 2026 and cash dividend declaration
- BANK WINDHOEK LIMITED - Publication of annual financial statements for the year ended 30 June 2026
- MTMMOMENTUM GROUP LIMITED - Annual results for the year ended 30 June 2026, dividend declaration and availability of annual financial statements